Great Grandma

Bit of an usual post for me as I don’t have many nice things to say about my immediate family. 

My great grandma was a wonderful woman I adored her and have so many fond memories of her. I remember as a kid my great grandma and grandpa and great auntie coming to visit at Christmas time. I always looked forward to their visits and knew every Christmas I’d get some knitted bed socks. I loved them even though my feet would get so hot I wore them every night in bed. Years down the line my great grandpa and great auntie died, great grandma moved to our home town to be closer to all her family. Although it was sad that they all died I was so happy she lived close by. 

I went to visit her and my grandad and his wife every month without fail. I loved going to see her. I loved the things she’d tell me and she would always look forward to seeing me and my eldest. He loved her just as much as I did. I remember telling her I was pregnant and if I had a girl I wanted to name her after her. If I had a boy (which I did) I would name him after my grandad (which I did). She was so proud and so happy. In Feb 2015 a few months from her 100th birthday she became ill and we weren’t sure if she’d make it to her birthday. 

Every call I got I was panicking if it was that call to tell me she’d gone. I’m so grateful she loved until her birthday in May. She met my youngest son on her birthday the one and only time she saw him. She died on the 19th may 2015 and it broke my heart. I loved her so so much. I went to her funeral and cried all the way through it. I remember my mum giving me a hug and saying she knew how much great grandma meant to me. I was the only one who went to see her every month unlike the family who only went at Christmas to get the Christmas money. A few weeks after she died my grandad gave my mum one of great grandmas rings. Mum always said it’s the one she wanted. My mum gave it to me knowing how much I loved my grandma and how often I went to see her. I wear it with pride and I was so upset when I realised the other day one of its stones is missing. It’s the only thing I have left of her other then photos I hope with all my heart it can be fixed. I honestly believe she is my youngest sons guardian angel and she’s there watching over him protecting him. ‚̧ūüėá

Author: always over thinking things

I'm 33 years old,married and I'm a full time mum to 2 boys. My eldest is 6 and the youngest is a year old. My eldest boy is on the autistic spectrum and my youngest is 2 and has a congenital heart defect called tetralogy of fallot. My blog is about my children, about me and my way of dealing with the life I've been given. It's a way of expressing my emotions and feelings through words. This is done anonymously as I want to keep myself away from people who don't know what's happening in my life.

Leave a Reply

