Extra support 

On Thursday we had the new health visitor come for a home visit to seeme about my youngest boys delayed development. She was lovely and very understanding. They are thinking he’s maybe not as delayed as I first thought other then the obvious gross motor that he’s having physio for. 

She’s obviously read my notes as she knew about my eldest sons awaiting diagnosis for autism, she obviously has to read up on the youngest medical history and why he would be delayed. She knew I have post natal depression and anxiety and despite my best efforts to throw her off the scent and say that I was doing ok it didn’t work. I didn’t want them knowing i wasn’t doing well because a few months ago I was fine. I’m just having a low spell. She’s going to come up again and often as I need for extra support as I’m only getting support from home start. Home start are fab and the family support worker we have is amazing. She’s provided no end of help. 


Kind of feel relieved to get more help as it might just prevent that trip to the Drs. Or if I go to the Drs I can say I don’t want to just be handed a prescription and sent on my way. Talking helps me having someone I can chat to now helps someone to reassure me I’m not crazy and the anxiety I feel is normal for what I’ve been through with my youngest. Something like that stays with you seeing your baby on a ventilator never goes away. I’m hoping it will help having someone else to talk to. The only problem I have is she doesn’t know the main cause of my aniexty and low mood at the mo. She doesn’t know I have support meetings with an outside charity. It’s not something I’m sure I can confide in her about. It took along time to tell anyone else I’m not sure I can go through it with someone new again. 

Author: always over thinking things

I'm 32 years old,married and I'm a full time mum to 2 boys. My eldest is 5 and the youngest is a year old. My eldest boy is on the autistic spectrum and my youngest has a congenital heart defect called tetralogy of fallot. My blog is about my children, about me and my way of dealing with the life I've been given. It's a way of expressing my emotions and feelings through words. This is done anonymously as I want to keep myself away from people who don't know what's happening in my life.

Leave a Reply

