Heart mum problems

So having a child with a heart defect really isn’t easy. I guess I’m relatively lucky that my little one doesn’t really have that many problems with his heart now but he still has a residual vsd. 

When he gets poorly whether is a common cold or any other illness I immediately think it’s something more serious. It’s inbuilt in me to think the worst. My little one now 19 months picks up ilnesses and infections quickly. He’s picked up a viral infection as soon as he started coughing I took him to the doctors to be checked in case it was a chest infection. I swear they look at me like I’m crazy but once they see his scar they realise I’m not. 

It’s reassuring that I’ve asked other heart mums if they overly worry and thank his they said they do. All the time. I’m glad it’s not just me worrying over minor illnesses. What other parents don’t realise is when your child has been through so much at such a young age they are even more precious. When doctors have stopped your baby’s heart and it’s been worked by machines you wonder if it’s ever going to re start itself. So while a viral infection is not nice for healthy children it’s harder for children with heart issues. They are at bigger risk from infection, their hearts have to work harder, their bodies have to work harder and it’s knocks the wind out of them. I see my snotty little baby struggling with this viral infection and I go right back to feeling helpless. 

Mums with healthy babies should be so grateful they haven’t had to deal with what us heart mums have, don’t ever be dramatic about “poorly” children when they haven’t had open heart surgery where infections can be life threatening or a lot more serious. 

Don’t compare your child to mine because it’s not a competition to see who has it worse. I’m my own worst enemy because I compare development stages and I shouldn’t so don’t do it for me. Be there to support me when I say my baby isn’t feeling well don’t just presume it’s nothing it’s never nothing with heart babies. 

Author: always over thinking things

I'm 33 years old,married and I'm a full time mum to 2 boys. My eldest is 6 and the youngest is a year old. My eldest boy is on the autistic spectrum and my youngest is 2 and has a congenital heart defect called tetralogy of fallot. My blog is about my children, about me and my way of dealing with the life I've been given. It's a way of expressing my emotions and feelings through words. This is done anonymously as I want to keep myself away from people who don't know what's happening in my life.

2 thoughts on “Heart mum problems”

Leave a Reply

