Local news


During a mad moment on Friday night I emailed my local newspaper and shared my story about the closure of Glenfield hospital. To my surprise they actually published it. I am extremely nervous it’s the first time it’s public knowledge about my youngest boy. I’ve kept things relatively private keeping things between friends and family. I’ve never gone public until now. I’ve shared it on my Facebook wall but I’m I totally regretting it thinking people will see it as attention seeking. Thinking people I didn’t want to find out will know once it gets shared along the Facebook route. I don’t want pity for him and I don’t want to have to talk about it to anyone else. It’s in the past and if Glenfield weren’t under threat the article wouldn’t have been published. 


I’m not an attention seeker I kept things to myself for 5 months telling no-one outside of family and very close friends about his heart defect. I didn’t go posting everything on Facebook I create a new account and only added close friends and family to it to keep them informed of progress etc. The first time I posted on my normal account was the night before the surgery. Even then I didn’t go into details. 


It’s had a couple of positive responses from friends but it’s the ones that’s do say anything silently judging me for sending the story in. Fuck them they didn’t live through it I did. They didn’t see their 5 month old baby on a ventilator helping him breathe or being under sedation for days. They didn’t have their 5 month olds heart repaired. I did. So I shared my sons story and I hope people are inspired by it. They can save their pity for someone else my baby boy don’t need it. 

In other news my youngest boy now 5 months can bum shuffle round in a circle and he stated to try and pull himself up on to legs in the bath. Nothing stops this boys I cousins be any more proud of him. Today with the help of the sofa and his dad he stood up for a minute. Such an amazing moment for me as his mummy. My family don’t really get the meaning of this and how special it is to us. To them it’s not important to me it’s made my day. He’s coming on so far he’s amazing bless him few more months and the boy will be off and there’ll be no holding him back then. ❤️

Author: always over thinking things

I'm 33 years old,married and I'm a full time mum to 2 boys. My eldest is 6 and the youngest is a year old. My eldest boy is on the autistic spectrum and my youngest is 2 and has a congenital heart defect called tetralogy of fallot. My blog is about my children, about me and my way of dealing with the life I've been given. It's a way of expressing my emotions and feelings through words. This is done anonymously as I want to keep myself away from people who don't know what's happening in my life.

Leave a Reply

