Save Glenfield 

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-36737265
Reading the news today saddens me the NHS ate cutting the heart surgeries at Glenfield hospital in Leicester. I like to keep personal details and names off this blog to keep it anonymous but this called for mentioning. 
http://m.leicestermercury.co.uk/angry-patients-vow-to-campaign-to-save-childre-s-heart-unit/story-29491824-detail/story.html

I’m disgusted and shocked and sad that NHS have come to this decision. My youngest was 4 months old when we first went there. We went to look around the congenital heart centre, speak to the surgeon and look around the ward. It was the first time we met the cardiac liaison nurses. They were all extremely helpful and friendly. 

http://m.leicestermercury.co.uk/mps-united-in-opposing-children-s-heart-unit-closure/story-29491775-detail/story.html
At 5 months my baby had his operation after an emergency admission. We met the surgeon he talked through the procedure and sat with us and talked to us like he has probably hundreds of other scared parents. Nothing was too much trouble to him through he drew diagrams he explained it over and over until we understood. The nurses on ward 30 were so incredibly lovely. A few we saw several times and they took great care of my little one. They told me to go and rest when I was exhausted from staying by his bed. They got me tissues everytime I cried, they say with my baby played with him and told him how beautiful he is. 

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-leicestershire-36737835
It was the worst time of my like but I won’t forget the kindness of the nurses and doctors I trusted with the life of my child. It’s not a place I ever want to go back to but that hospital has saved so many lives. I’ve always been told “once a Glenfield baby always a Glenfield baby” I hope it’s true. I hope all Glenfield heart families band together and fight the decision. 

Author: always over thinking things

I'm 33 years old,married and I'm a full time mum to 2 boys. My eldest is 6 and the youngest is a year old. My eldest boy is on the autistic spectrum and my youngest is 2 and has a congenital heart defect called tetralogy of fallot. My blog is about my children, about me and my way of dealing with the life I've been given. It's a way of expressing my emotions and feelings through words. This is done anonymously as I want to keep myself away from people who don't know what's happening in my life.

Leave a Reply

