Lucky escape

I’ve had a pretty good day today despite being awake since 4:30am usually lack of sleep sends me into a downward spiral kind of mood but today I’ve been feeling good. I met a friend today the kids played at support centre and then we went for a quick lunch. When I left her I bumped into someone who I haven’t seen in 8 years – my ex fiancé. 

He was surprisingly friendly considering we ended on quite bad terms. We had been friends for a couple of years before we got together and I was seeing someone else when he got into a terrible car accident. Instantly the friendship grew and I fell for him. We talked on the entire time he was in hospital and as soon as he came out of hospital I went to visit him at his mums. Then we became an item. After only about 6/7 months he proposed to me. I was on a night out with my best friend and and her cousin, we went to an abba tribute night. Amazing night after that had finished I went to the local pub after getting bombarded with texts from my other friends not knowing the reason why. I got to the pub there was karaoke on and it was his turn to sing a song. I remember it all so clearly. He sang a million love songs then it went quiet and he asked me to sit on a stool in front of the entire pub. My face was on fire I was dying of embarrassment. Then he asked me that question. I felt compelled to say yes I was in front of everyone how could I say no? 

After we got engaged he wanted things to move on pretty quickly, he wanted kids straight away, he wanted to get married within a year and he wanted to live with me and my best friend. It was all a bit too quick. He was manipulating me and he wanted everything his way. I was a bit naive, still young and immature in a way. I didn’t see what he was doing. We ended things and my because I found out he was cheating on me aswell as manipulating me into getting what wanted. I ended it and he started being quite nasty spreading stupid viscous rumours. 

Best decision I ever made was to end that relationship and I had a lucky escape. Seeing him today I was polite and friendly. He knows an awful lot about my life considering I’ve not seen him. He knows I’m married to which I said yes three years this year, he’s still In t he same position he was all that time ago same relationship, not married, no kids nothing has  changed, makes me feel so much better about my life. Despite what I’ve been through I’m still standing. I’m still living and breathing, I have a husband who doesn’t need to treat me like crap and 2 beautiful children. 

Author: always over thinking things

I'm 32 years old,married and I'm a full time mum to 2 boys. My eldest is 5 and the youngest is a year old. My eldest boy is on the autistic spectrum and my youngest has a congenital heart defect called tetralogy of fallot. My blog is about my children, about me and my way of dealing with the life I've been given. It's a way of expressing my emotions and feelings through words. This is done anonymously as I want to keep myself away from people who don't know what's happening in my life.

Leave a Reply

