School 

Going back to last April I was annoyed when my eldest son didn’t get a place in the school he wanted to go to. I ranted on Facebook, I sent off for appeal forms I really wasn’t happy.

At that time I wasn’t talking to my eldest sister and she worked at the school my son got offered a place at. I thought she would signed him out and treat him differently because of our fraught relationship. After learning that a child that my son didn’t like was going to the school he wanted to go to. With all the stress we went through with our youngest at the same time we didn’t want our boy to go to school where this child would make his life hell. We changed our minds about the appeal, we spoke to our son and he was happy with the choice he had made about going to the “purple school.” Turns out of was definitely the right decision to make. They have been nothing short of fantastic including my sister that we wasn’t talking to. She was teaching a different class to what he was in anyway.

The school have been fantastic they got is the referal to a paediatrician to him to be assessed for autism, they have him a tent as his safe space. They pre teach him when things need to change, they listen to any concerns I might have and they really have fantastic communication. His teacher is lovely and she’s very approachable which helps if I have questions I need answering or he’s having a particularly bad day.

I’m proud of how well he’s doing with his school work, he has reached for his work all of his end of reception targets. His imagination and his personal and social development and managing his feelings is be,ow his end of year target. I feel for him but it’s to be expected.

He has so many professionals involved that I hope by end of year one he can improve on that. I won’t lie about my children and make people belive they are perfect and can do no wrong it sets them up to fail. There’s no point in lying making out they are exceeding targets etc might aswell tell the truth and then they room to grow and improve. I love my boys exactly as they are and I’m the first to admit that it’s hard with the individual diagnosis’ they have. It’s the life I’ve been given I can’t change it I just have to try and learn how to cope with it.

Author: always over thinking things

I'm 32 years old,married and I'm a full time mum to 2 boys. My eldest is 5 and the youngest is a year old. My eldest boy is on the autistic spectrum and my youngest has a congenital heart defect called tetralogy of fallot. My blog is about my children, about me and my way of dealing with the life I've been given. It's a way of expressing my emotions and feelings through words. This is done anonymously as I want to keep myself away from people who don't know what's happening in my life.

Leave a Reply

