Hair pulling

I find myself getting really annoyed with myself. Since Thursday when I was practically told that I’m the reason my youngest isn’t crawling I’ve been pulling my hair out. It’s really really annoying not to mention that it hurts. I don’t actually realise I’m  doing it sometimes. My hair is short as it is and I’m trying to grow it but if I keep pulling it out it won’t grow.

http://www.nhs.uk/conditions/trichotillomania/Pages/introduction.aspx
I didn’t think I was overly anxious about anything tonight I felt kind of relaxed. Even though as soon as I stop doing stuff around the house my mind starts going round the things I’ve coming up. All the appointments, my in laws coming for the day, my wedding anniversary, Father’s Day. I’m processing all the info making sure I don’t forget anything but I didn’t feel anxious. Why the hell am I pulling my hair out? When I was watching a program I left it alone the minute it stopped the pulling started. I don’t know how to control it but I need to learn how to stop like now. I don’t want to end up with bald patches.

Really short and pointless post but in order to process it I need to write it, it’s how my mind works sometimes.

Author: always over thinking things

I'm 33 years old,married and I'm a full time mum to 2 boys. My eldest is 6 and the youngest is a year old. My eldest boy is on the autistic spectrum and my youngest is 2 and has a congenital heart defect called tetralogy of fallot. My blog is about my children, about me and my way of dealing with the life I've been given. It's a way of expressing my emotions and feelings through words. This is done anonymously as I want to keep myself away from people who don't know what's happening in my life.

3 thoughts on “Hair pulling”

  1. Have you tried recording when this happens and how you were feeling when it happens? That way you can see if there’s any patterns, it might help with your self awareness and help you to validate your emotions, you can get through this X e.g. If you realise that it happens often when watching tv and you don’t realise it, you could use a stress ball and keep that in your hands whilst you watch tv to try and train your mind away from the habit? X

    Like

  2. I’ve had trich for most of my life and it only went away the day I went vegan. I think diet is key in alleviating it (incl. sugar and junkfood). On the more mental aspect, I think pulling happens when you need to remove yourself from reality and kind of go into a ‘trance’, be with yourself in a calm place. Have you tried meditating? For me the diet alone just made it go away as mysteriously as it started. But now that I reflect on it, I honestly think that meditation would have helped.

    Like

Leave a Reply

