Family doesn’t always have to be blood.

Last night I was really upset and emotional because of my so called family. Today it wasn’t much better to start with, I shouldn’t be surprised by the way i get treated by family but it still hurts. I have a handful of very good close friends one of them happens to be an ex going back 10 years ago but we remained friends he’s now married to another one of my close friends. Anyway he’s the kind of friend that doesn’t really do serious but normally makes me smile by being daft. I got a very touching heartwarming message from him this morning because he’s known me 16 years now he knows my family well. He was disgusted by what my family have done over the years. More so this last year with everything I’ve been through with my youngest son.

The message made me cry because it was so sweet what he said to me “don’t be dragged down by others. Concentrate on the people that are in your life supporting you and who are there for you. Yes your family should be playing that role but it’s their loss not being involved. Your kids have plenty of loving people around them and although your family should be stepping it up to support you, take it from the people who are choosing to be there for you – the ones that don’t have to. They are your family. They say you can’t choose your family – but you can. People don’t have to be blood related to be apart of your family. Don’t dwell on who’s not there as it will push you away from who is” he’s right I can choose my family. My best friend I always refer to as my sister. She might not be blood but who said blood has to be thicker then water. She has been there for me through everything for 16 years and I’ve been there for her too. 

I have another friend I met through my mum many years ago but she has been a very good friend to me, I’ve been on the phone to her many times in tears and she’s talked to me about everything telling me how strong I was when I felt so incredibly weak. I didn’t feel strong but somehow she knew I was stronger then ever I thought I could be. She’s been an incredible friend to which I’ll never forget. I hope she knows how grateful I am to her.

Another friend said to me she can be my little sister well to be fair I see her more then I do my actual sister’s and she’s been there more in the last year then my “real” family.

So yes family doesn’t always have to be blood related they don’t have to be there to support me but still choose to be. I love my friends dearly i don’t know where I’d be without them. ūüíú

 

 

Author: always over thinking things

I'm 33 years old,married and I'm a full time mum to 2 boys. My eldest is 6 and the youngest is a year old. My eldest boy is on the autistic spectrum and my youngest is 2 and has a congenital heart defect called tetralogy of fallot. My blog is about my children, about me and my way of dealing with the life I've been given. It's a way of expressing my emotions and feelings through words. This is done anonymously as I want to keep myself away from people who don't know what's happening in my life.

Leave a Reply

